Your daily green juice: the true breakfast of champions

Almost every morning, I prepare a fresh green juice for the three of us: my wife, our teenage son and myself. Juicing vegetables to extract their nutrients and separate out the fibre is by far the most effective way to take in a mountain of highly concentrated nutrients. It is a powerfully alkalising, healing and life-giving flow of live enzymes, vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, chlorophyl, together with a wide spectrum of phytonutrients, all of which pass through the stomach quickly into the intestines without triggering secretion of hydrochloric acid, and can be directly absorbed into the bloodstream through the intestinal wall with no digestive stress at all.

It is true that there may be innumerable ways of preparing a fresh green juice. It is also true, however, that there are never innumerable choices of vegetables to buy at the store or market, and neither are there innumerable ways to combine the vegetables we do have into a balanced and palatable juice. Several of you have asked for tips about this, and so I share with you how I do it at home.

greenJuiceVeggies

As shown in the picture I took for you this morning, here are the ingredients in order of importance in terms of the amount of juice they give:

  1. Celery with the leaves if any (4-5 large sticks)
  2. Fennel bulb (one)
  3. English cucumber (half)
  4. Yellow pepper (one; red peppers make the juice brown in colour)
  5. Chard with stems (or spinach or kale without stems; small bunch)
  6. Parsley (small bunch)
  7. Ginger (4-5 cm)

This makes about 800 ml of juice to which I add a whole can of Dr Goerg coconut milk (400 ml) that I leave sitting in a small bowl with hot tap water while juicing to make it liquid, and a couple of teaspoons of powdered greens (e.g., dehydrated juice of barley or wheat grass, Food Matters powdered greens, Vitamineral Greens). It is blended smooth, and yields about 1200 ml that we share in three equal parts. You can add water to dilute it or not, depending on your taste.

The juice is a creamy, light green colour, and a mildly sweet, smooth and rich green flavoured vegetable juice that you should drink slowly and mindfully, highly appreciative of its dense nutrition with its health-giving and healing properties. The coconut milk provides excellent fat that helps to maximise absorption of the minerals, vitamins and antioxidants, and nourish the body, keeping you feeling energised, satisfied and not hungry for several hours.

It takes me about 20 minutes to make the juice, and then 10 minutes to cleanup. I wash and prepare all the veggies on Saturday or Sunday in order to be ready for a quick pulling out of the fridge and chopping without delay on weekday mornings. This is also much more water-efficient, since you can fill the sink with cold water, and wash all of your veggies one after another, starting with the peppers, fennel bulbs and cucumbers, and then the celery and chard/spinach. They have to be dried or spun before being stored in the fridge in open plastic bags.

We used for one year the Hurom HF-SBC06 Slow Juicer, for which I read the recommendation on the Food Matters website, and that a green foods friend of mine found through an online shop in Spain for which he sent me the link. It doesn’t take out all the fibre, and I have to strain the juice. I read that the Omega juicer (8004 or 8006, and 8003 for travelling) might have been a better choice for doing almost exclusively green fibrous veggies as we do. In any case, I was very happy with the quality of the juice despite the extra step of straining it at the end. Now we have the horizontal single auger Omega Sana 707, which works better than the Hurom for greens, is much much easier to clean and assemble/disassemble, but it extracts less juice, and I run the pulp through once to get more of it out. If I were to get another one today, I would get the new Omega Twin Gear for better yield.

I hope this short, pragmatic post will both inspire and help you incorporate this key health-promoting practice into your life and that of your family, and eventually make it part of your daily routine. A green juice such as this one is by far the most effective way to rebuild and maintain optimal health for all and at all ages throughout life. It is really the true breakfast of champions.

If you enjoyed reading this article, please click “Like” and share it on your social networks. This is the only way I can know you appreciated it.

24 thoughts on “Your daily green juice: the true breakfast of champions

  1. Thank u so much. Never thought to add coconut to a juice.

    How would u suggest this be made for one person? How would I adjust the amount of veggies and coconut milk, since it’s just little old me and not two other people who can share in this yummy breakfast of Champions? :)

    Also, I need to follow an autoimmune paleo diet with low oxalate/histamine/fodmaps veggies. Any suggestions for substitutions? Nightstands like bell peppers aren’t allowed, and for oxalates, chard, spinach, and kale aren’t either

    I’d love your thoughts on oxalates too…. New research is showing that foods that are seemingly healthy (but are high oxalate) can contribute to numerous health issues over time but increasing oxidative stress and oxalic acid formation. I appreciate your insight and non biased, scientific view. Susan Owens is the lead researcher on this

    Many thanks, in health!

    Like

    • Hi Stacy: I read about oxalates a little, and I appreciate the concern you have with them. But as you most likely already know, if one has a healthy digestive system, oxalates pass right through without being absorbed. Problems arise when the digestive system is compromised. In such cases, until the system has recovered, which may be never, oxalates should be avoided or eliminated completely. So, you should avoid them.

      But just to leave open ended, here’s something to think about: kidney stones are on the rise; 80% of kidney stones are calcium oxalate stones; the general population basically lives on processed foods which is practically devoid of dietary oxalates. How do these kidney stones form?

      Like

    • That’s a great open Question…. What is your view on why people on a sad diet develop kidney stones? Perhaps from all the soda they drink? Factory farmed meat?

      What veggies would be good substitutes for your juice? Also opinion on dairy free coconut milk Kefir?

      Do u do other coconut pproducts like coconut butter and oil? How much is good to eat a day? I notice that coconut tends to provide cravings for overeating more coconut, Oddly. Any idea why? I then get very nauseous…. Its strange and I dint get this with other foods

      Like

    • Kidney stones: read The kidney: evolutionary marvel. Coconut butter and oil: they’re all great, I use them all in different ways every day, and there is no limit; they are hypoallergenic and super healthy. To treat and reverse Alzheimer’s (and I would add, to prevent), doses are around 5 tbs (75 ml) of oil per day. I have never experienced or read about cravings. In fact, I find coconut products very filling and satisfying, leaving you to feel full for hours on end.

      Like

      • Oddly, a recent allergy test did show a milk allergy to coconut and I’ve recently come across several others who react too. I tend to get nauseous and craving to overindulge.

        Is it still beneficial to include in my diet? I have severe dysbiosis and know it’s great to kill pathogens but worry about this mild allergy

        Have u tried red palm oil? It’s supposed to be high in beta carotenoids, vit e, and lycopene. Does it have the same metabolic and Mtc effects as coconut oil?

        Like

    • That’s too bad, but you know that allergic response depends most intimately on the state of the digestive system and of the state of the organism in general. The doctor that I go see for my blood tests recounted to me that her son at 12 years of age did an allergy test for a total of 110 different foods and was allergic to 104! She removed all dairy and grains, and a few months later he test but was allergic to only 40 of the 110 even though they only took out dairy and grains. Allergic reactions cause chain reactions that cause more allergic sensitivities. So, with your state of digestive health, you most likely have allergies that are not really allergies but result from other more fundamental disturbances.

      I’ve used red palm oil some years ago when we were in France (and I’ve never seen it in Spain). It is highly saturated like coconut oil, and has similar properties, but less lauric acid, which is the prized MCT in coconut oil that gives it so many of its healthful properties.

      Like

      • I’ve been grain and dairy free for years…. Currently doing an autoimmune paleo diet after years of being vegan. So should I still include coconut products, even tho I get nauseous? How much ought I do?

        Any other diet advice?

        Like

      • If you get nauseous, I wouldn’t force it. But you should investigate trying different coconut products in different quantities and be totally clear about what causes what, how and how much. Have you done a comprehensive food allergy test? If not, I really think you should. It’s useful to pin point specific problematic substances, and will be very useful to guide you in establishing your healing diet. You should eat only things that do not cause negative reactions or metabolic disturbances.

        Having said that, most people are not allergic to fruits and dried fruits that are highly concentrated in glucose and fructose, but eating these in large quantities will eventually destroy the pancreas and the digestive system, will cause and promote yeast and fungus overgrowth there and eventually everywhere, and the problems will compound to severely compromise overall health. Most vegan diets are very high in simple sugars from fruits, and as you know, that’s really bad for just about everything in the body.

        Like

      • I don’t eat fruit anymore after a 2yr stint of fruitarianism that nearly destroyed my body with vit and min imbalances, severe dysbiosis, high trig, etc. I’m trying an autoimmune paleo diet + low histamine + low fodmaps + low oxalate + anticandida/mold diet. Hard to concoct for sure. :(

        Yes, the test that showed the mild coconut allergy was a comprehensive food allergy panel.

        I recently added meat to my diet after yrs of being vegan (fish, poultry, chicken liver). Veggies are not digesting at all, even if I blend them into a green soup. I do feel more calm and less inflamed with adding in protein, but it’s not digesting well and I’m not sure how much to have daily in terms of pro, fat, carbs as well as how to construct meals. It’s a totally different way if eating, for sure lol

        I tend to need a nighttime snack before bed in order to sleep and feel balanced… What do u recommend? I was doing coconut, but it led to consuming too much coconut products and thus the nausea.

        Like

      • I’m not sure what to recommend for you anymore: you are very special :) Animal protein is really important but should be eaten in small amounts, with plenty of time for cleansing and alkalising in between. If the stomach is compromised and is not secreting enough hydrochloric acid, which is most likely your case, then the protein is not broken down properly and causes an allergic immune response to the undigested proteins. Since you are eating meats and fish, I would suggest taking hydrochloric acid supplements immediately after animal protein meals. This will help a lot in digesting the protein properly and avoiding immune system stress.

        Like

  2. Love this! Thanks to you, I’ve been drinking one every day for 15 months. The changes and benefits are too numerous to mention and I hope everyone tries this long-term, regenerative elixir to reap the benefits for themselves!

    Like

  3. Have u tried blending a raw egg or raw yolk into the juice instead of coconut milk?

    Also, what are your thoughts on homemade coconut milk Kefir? Do u feel the probiotics in kefir are good for health and gut healing? If so, would this be good to use in place of coconut milk in the juice and also with meals?

    Like

    • I ate raw eggs in smoothies for several months, but found it was really hard to digest and really bad for my digestive system in general. It turns out that all animal protein are far more digestible and absorbable when they are cooked. For the yolk, it might be good, but I’ve never tried. I love the coconut. As for home made coconut kefir, I’m going to try that for a while and report back in the future. I have the kefir culture and will try it very soon. I think probiotics are super important for good digestive health, but this is very widely recognised and not in the least controversial.

      Like

  4. Guillaume, thanks for this post. I have a Vitamix and use it to make my green juice. I grow my own broccoli sprouts and often juice them with some other veges. Is the Vitamix OK to use? It is so easy and quick to make and clean!

    Like

    • To not stimulate the activation of the digestive system, and instead allow it to absorb this healthful, wide-spectrum cocktail of nutrients directly and effortlessly. As I have often emphasised, fibre is important, but this doesn’t mean it’s not always useful.

      Like

  5. I am looking for a juicer so small and light (not necessarily electrical) that I can carry it in the hand luggage when I go by plane. Do you happen to know of one you can recommend?

    Like

  6. Happy to come across this valuable site.
    1) Can i have coconut milk in my green juice, if i want to lose weight. I am exercising daily (gym) for the past four months almost every day and still there is no weight loss. I am afraid taking coconut milk daily might increase my weight.
    2) Also i usually make coconut milk from raw coconut (extract milk out of pulp). How much maximum shredded coconut, can i use safely, per day. Can i use half a coconut in my diet per day.
    Could you please clarify.

    Like

    • Thanks. I’m glad you find the blog valuable. For losing weight, you need to understand how the metabolism works. It has little (i.e. almost nothing) to do with exercise, and everything to do with the internal biochemistry that is basically regulated by insulin. I’ve written a lot about this. You should read the articles in the carbs and diabetes categories. Basically, to burn body fat, you need to cut out the carbs and load on the fats, making sure to have also enough protein. You can use coconut milk in everything you like and you cannot overdose: when you remove the carbs and drop the insulin to rock bottom, your body will know when you are hungry and when you are full, and will be burning fat 24 hours a day.

      Like

Comments?

